My favourite books.

For the past ten years, reading has been a pretty big part of my life. I couldn’t tell you how many books I have read, but I can tell you I definitely didn’t stick with only one genre.

Having very diverse interests is kind of part of my personality. I love to learn new things, and I love to explore the unknown. And I don’t see books as just one thing. There are so many different types. I see them to learn but I also see them as an entertainment. But the thing that I’m really happy about is that reading has given me the chance to improve my spelling, expand my vocabulary and helped me learn a whole other language.

The books you are going to find in the list are very unique and one can be very different from another, but they have all changed my life.

5. Just After Sunset, Stephen King.

51el3yvw8dl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

Usually not a big fan of horror stories (in all honesty, I do get scared quite easily), I found this book very intense and breath-taking. I just couldn’t stop reading it. This is a collection of short stories that are so beautifully written that even if you’re not into horror, you will enjoy it. What I love about Stephen King’s writing is that the suspense is always there, and you never expect the plot twist. Every single time, at the end of his stories, you end up closing the book and just sitting there staring at nothing for a good ten minutes. Sometimes, it hunts you for days. But I do like a memorable book, no matter why I remember it. I read this book when I was only fifteen, which is not advisable really, but six years later I still think about it once in a while.

4. The Harry Potter series, JK Rowling.

harrypotter

You are not a true 90s-00s kid without having read these books. This is actually the first series that I read. I remember reading it at school and being absorbed by the magical world of Harry Potter. Unfortunately as I read them a long time ago, I barely remember them, but I definitely remember enjoying them very much and they were really what made me love reading. I really want to re read the series at some point, but this is a very long one and I am worried that I won’t enjoy it as much as I did when i was a child.

3. The Hunger Games series, Suzanne Collins.

hunger_games_series

Aaaah, the Hunger Games. I have a love and hate relationship with these books. I was eighteen when I read them and I really feel that they could have been better use if I read them earlier. What I love about these books is that it really taught me that women can be strong, and they don’t have to be pretty. But then the fact that it is also highly focused on the main character’s relationships with the two main boys kind of annoyed me. But I think it was due to the fact that I was a bit older when I read it, and I know that I would have loved the romance if I read it two or three years earlier. The writing is okay although could be better. The story on the other hand is very original and enthralling. Although, I did not like the movies.

2. The Holocaust, Laurence Rees.

51wypsgtmxl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

To be honest I only just started reading this book, and I already love it. There is no word to describe it other than amazing. Laurence Rees does an amazing job at writing history in an easy to read way, and I really appreciate that. I love history, but I am not a fan of the usual pretentious history book. This is a great book for anyone that wants to know more about what really happened. I recommend it to anyone.

  1. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak.

51a99tea6il-_sx317_bo1204203200_

Anyone who knows me would ave expected it. Yes, The Book Thief. My all time favourite book. I don’t even know what to say. It made me laugh, it made me cry, that was just a whole mess of emotions. The writing is so beautifully original and the story is so good that it is addictive.It is one of the rare book (if not the only one) that I could read a second time. I don’t think I will ever find a book that I will enjoy as much as I enjoyed this one.

And that is all. I have a lot of other books that I love so more lists are coming but for now, this is all the ones I can think of. Hope you enjoyed reading me and I will see you in my next post!

Leave a Reply

